Legislative Council Polls: Moderate Turnout

Jun 9, 2018

  • Out of 20,678 voters in 4 districts, 12,938 are men, 7,735 women & 5 transgenders
  • Ban orders around counting centre on June 12

Mysuru:- Nearly a month after the Assembly polls, the teachers of Mysuru region are voting for the election to the Legislative Council seat from South Teachers Constituency today.

A total of 20,678 voters from Mysuru, Mandya, Hassan and Chamarajanagar districts are eligible for exercising their franchise.

Polling began on a moderate note at 7 am this morning in all the four districts comprising the South Teachers Constituency, with 45 per cent voting recorded till 1 pm. The polling will conclude at 5 pm.

In all, there are nine candidates in the fray. Sitting MLC Marithibbegowda is seeking re-election contesting on a JD(S) ticket while the Congress has fielded M. Lakshmana and the BJP B. Niranjanmurthy.

There are six Independent candidates in the fray — A.H. Gopalakrishna, D.K. Tulasappa, Dr. S.B.M. Prasanna (Dr. Ajay Prasanna), Prof. Mahadev, M.N. Ravishankar and P.A. Sharath Raj.

The polling is taking place at 42 centres located across the four districts with 18 centres in Mysuru District, 9 in Mandya, 10 in Hassan and 5 in Chamarajanagar.

Of the 18 centres in Mysuru District, 10 are in Mysuru city alone.

Out of the total 20,678 voters, 12,938 are men; 7,735 are women and others 5. The voters were provided with ballot papers to cast their votes in order of preference of 1, 2 and 3 against the names of the candidates, by using a violet colour sketch pen given at the polling centres.

Regional Commissioner P. Hemalatha, who is also the Returning Officer (RO), said that unlike previous elections, NOTA option is introduced in this election. The counting of votes will be taken up at Maharani’s College of Commerce and Management on Valmiki Road in Vinayakanagar at 8 am on June 12, she added.