District Administration Gears Up For LS Polls

Mar 12, 2019

Mysuru: With the Election Model Code of Conduct coming into force with immediate effect after the Election Commission announcing the schedule for Lok  Sabha elections yesterday, Deputy Commissioner Abhiram G. Sankar held a press conference at his office this morning and said that the District Administration was fully geared up for the election to constitute   the 17th Lok Sabha.

Addressing reporters along with City Police Commissioner K.T. Balakrishna and Superintendent of Police Amit Singh, Abhiram Sankar, who is also the District Electoral Officer and Returning Officer, said that there will be no room for hanky-panky this time and the Model Code will be strictly implemented without fear or favour. “The Constitutional duty will be performed to ensure free and fair elections,” he said.

“Assembly constituencies Madikeri, Virajpet, Periyapatna, Hunsur, Chamundeshwari, Krishnaraja, Chamaraja and Narasimharaja form the Mysuru-Kodagu Lok Sabha constituency and in Mysuru, there are 14,23,457 voters, excluding Madikeri and Virajpet, the details of which will be taken later,” he said. K.R. Nagar comes under Mandya Lok Sabha seat while H.D. Kote, Nanjangud, Varuna and T. Narasipur come under Chamarajanagar LS seat, he added.

Abhiram Sankar said that teams have been formed to strictly enforce the Code of Conduct. Officers have been directed to ensure that no new schemes or official programmes are announced by political leaders that will amount to violation of the Code of Conduct.

The District Administration has taken control of all government Guest Houses in the district, Inspection Bungalows, Travellers’ Bungalows and other Govt. accommodations and government vehicles provided to political leaders in government set up.

Source: Star of Mysore