G.T. Devegowda – The Giant Killer

May 16, 2018

Mysuru:  JD(S) candidate G.T. Devegowda (GTD) became the ‘Giant Killer’ by defeating Congress Chief Minister Siddharamaiah in the high-stake battle in Chamundeshwari Assembly segment, which has attracted nationwide attention.

GTD, who took the lead in the first round of counting, consolidated his position as the rounds progressed and finally won by a huge margin.

Chamundeshwari has witnessed a keen tussle between sitting MLA G.T. Devegowda of JD(S) and Chief Minister Siddharamaiah, who chose to contest from here after giving up his Varuna Constituency for his son Dr. Yathindra.

This election is a waterloo for many Ministers in the Siddharamaiah Government who include Dr. H.C. Mahadevappa, H. Anjaneya, B. Ramanath Rai, A. Manju, Vinay Kulkarni, Pramod Madhwaraj, T.B. Jayachandra, Basavaraj Rayareddy, Dr. Geetha Mahadevaprasad, S.S. Mallikarjun and Sharan Prakash Patil among others losing  by big margins.

The Ministers who won included R.V. Deshpande, D.K. Shivakumar, U.T. Khader, K.J. George, Roshan Baig, Ramesh Kumar, Ramalinga Reddy, Eshwar Khandre and M.B. Patil.

BJP wins Hassan

BJP recorded its first win in Hassan district after nearly two decades, with young Preetham Gowda defeating his nearest rival H.S. Prakash of JD(S) in a  see-saw battle.

However, the BJP drew a blank in districts such as Mandya, Chikkaballapur and Kolar.

The BJP succeeded in retaining its hold over Bengaluru city, winning a majority of seats in the State Capital.

JD(S) State President H.D. Kumaraswamy, who contested from Channapatna and Ramanagar, won in both the seats comfortably.

CM Siddharamaiah, however, had a saving grace when he won from his second seat of Badami defeating his nearest rival B. Siramulu of the BJP in yet another high-voltage battle.