598 Poll Staff Count Votes On 154 Tables At 16 Rooms

May 16, 2018

Mysuru: Counting of votes for the 11 Assembly Constituencies in Mysuru began at 8 am today amidst tight security at the new campus of Maharani Women’s Commerce and Management College at Vinayakanagar (Paduvarahalli), off Hunsur Road, and at the National Institute of Engineering – Institute of Technology (NIE-IT) on KRS Road near BEML, on the outskirts of the city.

District Election Officers and the Returning Officers (ROs) opened the strong rooms at both the centres in the presence of Paramilitary Forces, candidates and their selected agents at 7.30 am and the Electronic Voting Machines, Control Units and the Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trial (VVPAT) machines were shifted to the respective counting tables. Each EVM has a code number and shifted to the counting table as per booth and Constituency. For the first time, VVPATs too were coded as per booths and Constituencies.

The counting of votes of Chamundeshwari, Krishnaraja, Narasimharaja, H.D. Kote, Nanjangud, T. Narasipur and Hunsur Assembly Constituencies was carried out at Maharani’s College. At the NIE-IT, the votes of Varuna, K.R. Nagar, Periyapatna and Chamaraja were counted. Initially, the postal ballots were counted and later, the actual votes in the EVMs were counted.

The Election Commission (EC) has appointed a total of 598 staff for the counting process. Out of them, there are 187 supervisors, 187 counting assistants and 224 micro observers. The authorities have arranged 154 tables at 16 rooms to count the votes.

Candidates and their agents were housed in separate barricaded counters at the counting halls and they had no contact with the counting officials.